OC School Boards Association Honors OC Superintendents for Leadership in Service of Youth

OCSBA Maureen DiMarco Award

The county’s 28 public school superintendents received top honors from the Orange County School Boards Association (OCSBA) this week.  The superintendent group was surprised during a virtual seminar, when OCSBA announced that they were giving the Maureen DiMarco Award to OC superintendents, “In Recognition of Exemplary Leadership for Youth and the Education Community Amidst a Global Health Pandemic.”

In a statement, OCSBA said:

“During this unprecedented time, when the world is grappling with the Coronavirus-19 pandemic crisis, there is only one group of individuals who come to mind to be nominated for the 2020 Maureen DiMarco Award for their exemplary and extraordinary leadership in addressing the myriad of needs for our diverse students and families countywide; that group is the various school district superintendents throughout Orange County.

As Board Members and President and Past Presidents of the Orange County School Board Association, We have witnessed first-hand the trials and tribulations this crisis has unfolded before these amazing men and women. Just like they did with the Proposition 63 Mental Health Services Act funds, our superintendents have banded together, on an around the clock basis, to share and examine the vital work and important decisions they bear. This group has come together but still managed to customize and tailor their individual responses to meet the needs of their individual communities. Each passing day has brought new challenges and considerations; without hesitation, these superintendents have remained steadfast and flexible, inspiring advocates for the education, well-being and safety of all our students, teachers, staff and community. 

These have been incredibly tumultuous times, however, we have complete confidence that we will get through this, because of the leadership and dedication of our superintendents. It is with deep pride and sincere appreciation that we nominate each individual Orange County school district superintendent for the 2020 Maureen DiMarco Award.”

It is an honor to work with such a dedicated and student-centered group of education professionals,” said IUSD Superintendent Terry Walker.  “The ability to collaborate, share best practices and to collectively advocate for students and staff at all levels of government has provided tremendous benefit to our students and to students throughout the county and the entire state of California.”

OCSBA, an association of local school district and community college boards, has honored individuals and organizations with the Maureen DiMarco Award since 1993. Its namesake, Maureen DiMarco, served as president of the California School Boards Association and the OCSBA, and she was California’s first cabinet secretary for child development and education.