IUSD Swears in New Board Members and Selects President and Clerk

Board Meeting December 13, 2022

During the December 13, 2022 Irvine Unified School District Board of Education Meeting, the Board selected a new president and clerk, which are one-year terms. Lauren Brooks was selected to serve as president and Cyril Yu was tapped to serve as clerk. The Board and District staff thanked the previous Board President, Ira Glasky, who recently retired, for his leadership.

In addition to being the final session of 2022, Tuesday marked the annual organizational meeting for the five-member board, which approved school site liaison assignments, determined Board Member committee participation, appointed representatives to various District committees and established meeting dates through December 2023. The next two regular Board Meetings are scheduled for January 17 and February 7, 2023.

Also during the meeting, new Board Members Dr. Jeff Kim (Trustee Area 4) and Katie McEwen (Trustee Area 2) were sworn into office.  Superintendent Terry Walker administered the oath of office and members of each new Board Member's family were on hand to celebrate the moment. 

Click here to read more about each of the five Board of Education members.   

Board Certification of First Interim Report

The Board also certified the first interim report of 2022-23 as “positive,” meaning the District is expected to meet its financial obligations for the current year and the subsequent two years. Every school district in California is required to examine and certify its financial condition as “positive,” “qualified” or “negative” twice during each fiscal year. Positive is the ideal certification, while qualified indicates a district may not be able to meet its financial obligations for the current year and the two subsequent years. A negative certification indicates that a district will not be able to meet its financial obligations over this period.

Click here to view the First Interim presentation, delivered by IUSD Assistant Superintendent, Chief Financial Officer John Fogarty.