IUSD Board President Lauren Brooks Honored with Prestigious Education Award


IUSD Board of Education President Lauren Brooks was awarded the Orange County School Boards Association’s highest honor – the prestigious Marian Bergeson Award.  Established in 1974, the Marian Bergeson Award is presented annually to trustees who promote and enhance public education through their governing board service and community efforts.

For nearly 30 years, Lauren has been a tireless advocate for public education, serving IUSD students in various capacities.  Her roles include Board of Education Member since 2012, PTA President, School Site Council member, Regional Occupation Program (ROP) Board of Trustees representative for Coastline ROP, Greater Irvine Chamber Business and Workforce Development Committee member, and active member of the Orange County School Boards Association Executive Board.

Lauren also established the first-ever IUSD High School Student Advocacy Trip to Sacramento, giving students an important and unique introduction into public education funding and advocacy.  This last March, 29 students from all IUSD high schools participated in the Sacramento trip and many former students have communicated how this opportunity encouraged them to continue their civic engagement in college and beyond.   

“Lauren is a student-centered, inclusive, and passionate leader in public education, embodying the true spirit of collaboration,” said IUSD Board Member Sharon Wallin.  “She is known by colleagues for being a well-informed and approachable leader, who has a deep understanding, context and perspective related to school funding, new legislation, curriculum and emergency preparedness.”

For nearly three decades, Lauren has been committed to developing current and future generations of well-balanced student leaders, who are civically engaged, and prepared for competitive colleges and careers.

Past IUSD recipients of the Marian Bergeson Award include Lee Sicoli (1983), Mary Ellen Hadley (1993), Margie Wakeham (1998) and Sharon Wallin (2011).