2018-19 Teachers of Promise Announced

2018-19 Teachers of Promise

Today, in addition to announcing the 2018-19 Teachers of the Year, IUSD announced four Teachers of Promise. This annual honor goes to first- or second-year instructors, who go above and beyond, while demonstrating professional curiosity and an unbridled enthusiasm for teaching. 

The 2018-19 Teachers of Promise are:

  • ebun agboola Ebun Agboola teaches in the elementary music program and visits a number of schools each week as part of the Visual and Performing Arts program. She teaches vocal music in grades four through six and is a graduate of IUSD.


  • stephanie dooStephanie Doo is a fourth-grade teacher at Culverdale Elementary School. She is a graduate of Irvine schools and is in her second year of teaching. She is one of two elementary school Teachers of Promise.


  • kristine farris Kristine Farris is an education specialist at University High School. She began her second career as an educator in IUSD as a special education instructional assistant in 2015. She is the high school Teacher of Promise.


  • david schrenzel David Schrenzel teaches math at Plaza Vista School and comes from a family of educators. David is the middle school Teacher of Promise.


This year’s four Teachers of Promise were recognized in front of their classes for today’s announcement and will be formally honored in April at the 33nd annual Excellence in Teaching Awards program.

Once again, congratulations to this year’s Teachers of Promise!

Click here for the 2018-19 Teachers of the Year honorees.