IUSD celebrates 'Teachers of Promise'

While Connie Fritsch, Kris Linville and Jeanne Jelnick were deservedly receiving kudos after being named IUSD’s Elementary, Middle and High School Teachers of the Year, they weren’t the only ones celebrating Wednesday. IUSD, along with the Exchange Club and the Irvine Teachers Association, also recognized four “Teachers of Promise.” These first- or second-year instructors stand out for going above and beyond while demonstrating professional curiosity and an unbridled enthusiasm for teaching. The 2009-10 Teachers of Promise, as shown below, are Megan Mulhaupt, a special education teacher at Meadow Park Elementary School; Parastoo “Paris” Shahabi, a kindergarten teacher at Northwood Elementary; Tristen Holton, a sixth-grade teacher at University Park Elementary; and Karla Covarrubias, who teaches world languages at University High. Each was surprised with the news in front of their students, who were able to share in the tribute. Once again, congratulations to this year’s Teachers of the Year and Teachers of Promise!