Language Proficiency Assessment


State and federal law require that local educational agencies administer a state test of English language proficiency to eligible students in pre-kindergarten through grade twelve.

The English Language Proficiency Assessments for California (ELPAC) is the required state test for English language proficiency that must be given to students whose primary language is a language other than English.

The ELPAC consists of two separate ELP assessments: one for the initial identification of students as English learners (ELs), and a second for the annual summative assessment to measure a student’s progress in learning English and to identify the student's level of English language proficiency.

Information regarding the English Language Proficiency Assessments for California can be found on the found on the California Department of Education’s (CDE) website.


Administration of the Initial ELPAC will take place at the Language Development Programs, 155 Visions, Building 2, Irvine, CA 92620.

The Home Language Survey completed during enrollment determines if a student is eligible for the Initial ELPAC.  Students are eligible for the initial assessment based on the following: 

  • The Home Language Survey indicates a language other than English is used by the student and in the home.
  • The student was not previously assessed with the ELPAC (or its predecessor the CELDT).

The results of this assessment will support placement decisions and assist teachers in providing the appropriate English language development instruction and  linguistic support. 

Initial language assessment is by appointment only.  Appointments are made by school staff after all enrollment requirements have been met. Parents receive results of the initial assessment through the Parent Portal and receive an Initial Notification letter containing their child’s test results.

Students previously identified as English learners take the Summative ELPAC each year until reclassified to Fluent English Proficient. The Summative ELPAC is aligned with the 2012 California English Language Development Standards and assesses four domains: Listening, Speaking, Reading, and Writing. The purpose of the assessment is to measure progress toward English proficiency, inform proper educational placements, and to help determine if a student is ready to be reclassified.

The annual assessment is administered at school sites by personnel trained in test administration. Parents receive results of the annual assessment through the Parent Portal and receive an annual notification letter containing their child’s test results

Reclassification is the process whereby a student is reclassified from English learner (EL) status to Fluent English Proficient (RFEP) status. Reclassification can take place at any time during the academic year, immediately upon the student meeting the established criteria. 

The four criteria established by the CDE include:

  1. Attainment of Overall Performance Level 4 on the ELPAC 
  2. Teacher evaluation, including, but not limited to a review of the student’s curriculum mastery 
  3. Parental opinion and consultation
  4. Performance on an assessment of basic skills compared to the performance of English proficient students of the same age 

IUSD’s Reclassification Criteria

State and federal laws require districts to monitor students who have exited EL status for a period of four years after they have reclassified as English proficient. Districts must monitor the academic progress of RFEP students for at least four years to ensure that:

  • The students have not been prematurely exited;
  • Any academic deficit they incurred as a result of learning English has been remedied; and
  • The students are meaningfully participating in the standard instructional program comparable to their English-only peers